History Of The Soviet Union – Fall Of A Superpower

This is where the collapse of the Soviet Union began, when socialism collapsed in Eastern Europe after the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989. However, after the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989, socialism in the Soviet Union survived. Extremist communists try to stage a coup against Mikhail Gorbachev, the general secretary of the Soviet Communist Party. Although the movement failed, the independence movement of the 15 Soviet republics intensified and a referendum was held in favor of the movement. Later, the Soviet leaders held a meeting and from that meeting it was decided to break up the Soviet Union.

mikhail gorvachev
Mikhail Gorbachev, General Secretary of the Communist Party

After this meeting, Mikhail Gorbachev became virtually irrelevant. The Soviet Union collapsed on December 25, 1991, following the resignation of Mikhail Gorbachev.

The Soviet Union was formed in 1922 and the Soviet Union collapsed in 1991. In this article we will learn about the history of the breakup of the Soviet Union.

The Soviet Union was a socialist country extending as far as Eurasia. Socialism is a socio-economic system in which there is no private ownership but all resources are owned by the state. Food products or other products are produced according to the needs of the people. At that time the Soviet Union had a policy of equality. All institutions in the Soviet Union were published with numbers, not names. This is the principle of socialism

Work according to ability and accept as needed

The Soviet Union was a one-party state. The main party was the Communist Party of the Soviet Union.

The size and population of the Soviet Union

The largest state in the world was the Soviet Union. The total area of ​​the Soviet Union was 2,24,02,200 square kilometers (8,49,500 square miles). It was not possible to express the time of Darapur country in just one time zone or time zone. The Soviet Union had a total of 11 time zones. The total population was 29,30,48,571.

map of soviet
Map of the Soviet Union

The largest cities in the Soviet Union are:

  • Leningrad
  • Kyiv
  • Minsk
  • Tashkent
  • Almaty
  • Novosibirsk

Soviet Union in World War II

In World War II, German troops, the Nazi forces, invaded the Soviet Union. Although the Soviet Union was politically and economically strong at the time, Hitler’s forces killed an estimated 3.5 million Soviet troops. However, German troops were unable to make room for themselves in the vast territory of the Soviet Union. According to Soviet authorities, they killed about 4.5 million German soldiers. The main reason for Germany’s defeat was the Soviet climate. Russia’s bitter cold weather made it difficult for German troops to fight, and they gradually became ill. Germany was defeated when the Soviets’ powerful Red Army later attacked the Germans. This was followed by the fall of Hitler.

The state religion of the Soviet Union

The Soviet Union had no state religion because the Communist Party of the Soviet Union was a party of materialist ideology. That is why atheism was given the highest importance. For this reason, religion was not viewed favorably in the Soviet Union. Those who practiced religion had to face various problems at that time. Christianity was in the majority, but so was Islam and Buddhism.


The main language of the Soviet Union was Russian. The legislature was called the Great Soviet Union. The currency was the Soviet Ruble. The Soviet Union was governed by the decisions of Karl Marx and Vladimir Lenin. Soviet citizens received all their benefits completely free of charge. You would be surprised to know that in the Soviet Union, students were paid a monthly stipend, and even had the opportunity to study completely free of charge until post-graduation. Most Soviet families were middle class. However, much more was subsidized for these facilities, such as water and electricity, which allowed the Soviets to enjoy all the benefits on a daily basis, almost free of charge.

You already know about the collapse of the Soviet Union. The resignation of Mikhail Gorbachev in 1991 led to the collapse of the then-Soviet Union, which consisted of 15 major cities.

  • Ukrainian
  • Belarusian
  • Uzbek
  • Kazakh
  • Georgian
  • Azerbaijani
  • Lithuanian
  • Moldavian
  • Latvian
  • Kyrgyz
  • Tajik
  • Armenian
  • Turkmen
  • Estonian

These 15 countries later split and a superpower collapsed. Although Russia is now considered a superpower and the world’s 2nd most powerful country, it is possible to see how much influence the Soviets could have had if they had survived.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button